Meet the Board of Education

Photo - Whitfield County Board of Education

The Whitfield County Schools Board of Education is made up of five members. Four of the members represent one of four voting districts with a fifth member serving at-large who represents the entire district. In the photo, from left, are board member Rodney Lock, Chairman Bill Worley, board members Thomas Barton and Tony Stanley, and Vice Chairman Louis Fordham. Mr. Fordham is also one of 14 school board members selected by Georgia Gov. Nathan Deal in 2014 to serve on his Education Advisory Board.

Responsibilities of the Board and Superintendent

GSBA Quality Board Logo

The Board of Education is responsible for setting policy and managing the budget for the school district. The superintendent serves as the school board’s chief executive officer and, in partnership with their staff, is responsible for the daily operation of the school district.

The superintendent reports directly to the school board and is responsible for carrying out local school board policies, the policies set by the Georgia Board of Education, and ensuring compliance with state and federal education laws.

School Board Meetings

All regular board meetings begin in open session and may include an executive session that is closed to the public. The public portion of the meeting includes a time for public comments.

Click to see the Board of Education meeting schedule
(or download a calendar ready to print).

The Board of Education convenes for a work session at 5:30 p.m. prior to its regular monthly meetings that begin at 6:30 p.m. All meetings are at the central office building at 1306 South Thornton Avenue, Dalton, Ga. For more information call (706) 217-6780.

Meeting Minutes Archive

The minutes taken during school board meetings, which includes regular meetings, work sessions, and called meetings are available for you to download and review. The minutes below are bundled as PDFs as they were presented and adopted by the Board of Education during its regular monthly meeting.

For example, the document “2014-10 adopted minutes” includes minutes from meetings that convened between the previous meeting in September and the October meeting.

The adopted minutes of school board meetings since January 2010 are available below. For more information or questions about these records, please contact the superintendent's office at (706) 217-6723. We hope you find these records to be a useful reference tool and appreciate your interest in Whitfield County Schools.

2010 Minutes 2011 Minutes 2012 Minutes 2013 Minutes 2014 Minutes 2015 Minutes 2016 Minutes 2017 Minutes
January 2010
February 2010
March 2010
April 2010
May 2010
June 2010
July 2010
August 2010
September 2010
October 2010
November 2010
December 2010
January 2011
February 2011
March 2011
April 2011
May 2011
June 2011
July 2011
August 2011
September 2011
October 2011
November 2011
December 2011
January 2012
February 2012
March 2012
April 2012
May 2012
June 2012
July 2012
August 2012
September 2012
October 2012
November 2012
December 2012
January 2013
February 2013
March 2013
April 2013
May 2013
June 2013
July 2013
August 2013
September 2013
October 2013
November 2013
December 2013
January 2014
February 2014
March 2014
April 2014
May 2014
June 2014
July 2014
August 2014
September 2014
October 2014
November 2014
December 2014
January 2015
February 2015
March 2015
April 2015
May 2015
June 2015
July 2015
August 2015
September 2015
October 2015
November 2015
December 2015
January 2016
February 2016
March 2016
April 2016
May 2016
June 2016
July 2016
August 2016
September 2016
October 2016
November 2016
December 2016
January 2017
February 2017
March 2017
April 2017






Download a zip archive (21.7MB) of all Whitfield County Board of Education minutes approved from 2010-2016.

  rss facebook instagram twitter google+